The First Nations University of Canada is governed by a Board of Governors. The Board is comprised of nine voting members. The FNUniv Board of Governors is appointed by a Selection Committee formed by the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Education and Training Commission.

First Nations University Board of Governors
First Nations University Board of Governors

Board Composition

According to the First Nations University of Canada Act (Part IV) the Board is made up of nine (9) members, eight (8) voting members and one (1) non-voting chairperson. There are two (2) Elders on the Board, one (1) male and one (1) female who are non-voting advisors appointed by the Elders Advisory Council. One (1) FNUniv student and one (1) FNUniv faculty member are non-voting observers to the Board. Board of Governors List

An Act Respecting the First Nations University of Canada

First Nations University of Canada Regulations

FNUniv Executive Office

The Executive Office consists of:

  • President
  • Vice-President, Academic
  • Associate Vice-President, Academic
  • Director of Finance


The FNUniv Executive, Faculty and Staff were delighted to welcome Dr. Mark S. Dockstator in July 2014. Dr. Dockstator brings a breadth and diversity of experience to the First Nations University of Canada. A member of the Oneida Nation of the Thames, he has been an Associate Professor, Indigenous Studies, at Trent University since 1997. In addition, Dr. Dockstator also served as Departmental Chair and Director of the PhD program. He received his Juris Doctor (J.D.) Degree from Osgoode Hall Law School, York University. In 1994, he was the first First Nations person to graduate with a doctorate in law. His doctoral dissertation, entitled “Toward an Understanding of Aboriginal Self Government”, is a blend of Indigenous and Western knowledge and was used as a foundation for the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples final report.

Dr. Dockstator has served as founding Chairman of the First Nations’ Statistical Institute, Senior Negotiator and Researcher for the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs, President and CEO of Rama Economic Development Corporation, Special Advisor to the Royal Commission on Aboriginal People and Special Advisor to the Chief Commissioner of the Indian Land Claims Commission, to name a few. Dr. Dockstator has a great deal of business experience and has a specific research expertise in Aboriginal issues, having served as Principal Investigator on an array of national and regional research projects in areas such as Aboriginal health, treaties, Aboriginal languages and culture, education and economic development.

Dr. Dockstator’s appointment was approved by the FNUniv Board of Governors at its April 28-29, 2014 board meeting.

President’s Objectives 2018-19

Vice-President, Academic

Dr. Bob Kayseas

Dr. Bob Kayseas has held many positions during his more than 15 years at First Nations University of Canada and is excited to take on the new role of Vice President Academic. Dr. Kayseas is a Saskatchewan born Anishnabe (Saulteaux) scholar. He obtained a degree in Business Administration and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Regina and Ph.D. (Enterprise and Innovation) from the Australian Graduate School of Entrepreneurship, Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, Australia.

Dr. Kayseas has established a recognized scholarly program of research centered on Indigenous entrepreneurship and economic development. He remains actively engaged in both the research and practice of entrepreneurship and economic development. Most recently, he has worked to foster the integration of reconciliation into academic programming both in the classroom and in online distance learning. Dr. Kayseas is passionate about creating opportunities both in the classroom and within communities for Indigenous students to grow and thrive.